Who did this work

Producing an annual public opinion poll requires a team of experts with an intense attention to detail. Although the PDK staff leads the work, the advisory group is essential in pointing to the issues that help us shape the questions each year.


Joshua P. Starr

CEO | PDK International

Joshua P. Starr has been chief executive officer of PDK International since July 2015. Starr has worked in public education since 1993, as a teacher, central office leader and superintendent of schools. Starr is a passionate champion for all students and is committed to ensuring that PDK International continues to serve as a unique and trusted voice that supports the teaching profession.

Joan Richardson

Director, PDK poll | PDK International

Joan Richardson is director of the PDK Poll of the Public's Attitudes Toward the Public Schools. Previously, she was editor-in-chief of Phi Delta Kappan magazine, a publication of PDK International, for 10 years. Before joining Kappan, she spent 12 years as director of communications for the National Staff Development Council. Before that, she was an award-winning education reporter for the Detroit Free Press.

Carol Bucheri

Managing editor/design & production | Phi Delta Kappan Magazine

Carol Bucheri has worked with the PDK poll for many years. In addition to designing the print version of the poll each year, she maintains the poll question archive and designs graphics for the PDK poll web sites and for slide presentations.

Michele Siuda Jacques

Digital content editor | Phi Delta Kappan Magazine

Michele Jacques manages kappanonline.org and pdkpoll.org in addition to PDK's social media accounts. An experienced journalist, she previously worked for the Detroit Free Press.

Advisory group

Katherine Bassett

President and CEO
National Network of State Teachers of the Year

Catherine Brown

Vice president, education policy
Center for American Progress

Tyrone Byrd

Director of secondary education
Arlington (Va.) Public Schools

Jessica Cardichon

Director, federal policy
Learning Policy Institute

Heather Harding

Senior program officer, U.S. programs, college ready
Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

Rene Islas

Executive director
National Association for Gifted Children

Robert Mahaffey

Executive director
The Rural School and Community Trust

Nat Malkus

Resident scholar and deputy director, education policy
American Enterprise Institute

Princess Moss

National Education Association

Jose Munoz

Coalition for Community Schools

Jasmine Oke

Senior associate, educational issues
American Federation of Teachers

Carolyn Sattin-Bajaj

Associate professor
Seton Hall University, South Orange, N.J.

Nathan Smith

Director of public policy